orgtheory.net

give me $3 and i’ll get you your phd

Ok, that’s a bald faced lie. Unless you’re my dissertation student, I can’t give you your PhD. Even then, you’ll have to do it the old fashioned way – do some research. But you know what you can get for $3 that will get you your PhD? The Grad Skool Rulz: Everything You Need to Know About Academia from Admissions to Tenure. And the title is no joke. In 59 short chapters, I cover everything from “Should I go to graduate school?” to assembling your tenure dossier.

Why did I write this book? I think graduate education is a mess. People expect you to just learn through osmosis. Imagine if we ran medical schools the same way. Meh! So I wrote this book to help people know how the system works. For real – from a dude who succeeded (and failed, at time) in graduate school and the tenure track.

The reviews:

  • A well explained and written overview of academia that is helpful for anyone in or considering a profession in academia. A great sociological analysis of the process. Well worth one’s time. (JL Howell).
  • This book is an excellent representation of the mainstream in professional sociology. It’s especially valuable for my advisees, as our department is a historically critical/activist one. I wish I’d had it when I was in graduate school. (JL Shiao).

Check it out.

Adverts: From Black Power/Grad Skool Rulz 

Written by fabiorojas

February 19, 2013 at 12:33 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yesterday in our proseminar I disseminated some Rulz, especially on the difference between reasons to hate grad school (you hate your cohort/advisor/department/university/dissertation, and you’re poor — all reasons to finish more than quit) and actual good reasons to quit grad school (you don’t want a career as a sociologist). Seemed like good advice.

    Like

    Philip N. Cohen

    February 19, 2013 at 2:26 pm

  2. Thanks – It is very important for graduate students to make that distinction.

    Like

    fabiorojas

    February 19, 2013 at 4:29 pm

  3. Fabio, Is this the revised edition of your book? I have the first edition, already.

    Like

    Mike Perazzetti

    February 22, 2013 at 11:20 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,070 other followers

