orgtheory.net

a university of chicago graduate meets death

Collector’s Weekly interviews Caitlin Doughty, who has a new book on the funerary industry in America. How she got started:

I guess it was serendipitous. I was always very into death in school, studying Medieval death rituals and the Victorian Gothic at the University of Chicago. …  At the University of Chicago, you don’t do a lot of hands-on, practical things for the most part. And if you go to mortuary school, you’re not usually looking at the death industry with a critical or academic eye. I wanted to see if I could combine those two things. I realized very quickly that if I could somehow work with death on both an intellectual and a practical, tangible level, there might be something there. I worked in San Francisco for a year at a crematory, and then I moved to L.A. for mortuary school.

My upcoming book is about my first year entering this field. I thought I wanted to revitalize the funeral industry by putting the “fun” in “funeral” and having crazy spectacle funerals with champagne glasses or shooting your ashes into space. Then I realized, oh my God, this is actually very gross and difficult.

Interview has a lot of good insights as well about how we best handle our deaths and those of our loved ones.

Adverts: From Black Power/Grad Skool Rulz

Written by fabiorojas

March 27, 2013 at 12:00 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like the valuable info you provide to your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and test once more right here regularly.
    I’m somewhat certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff proper here!
    Best of luck for the following!

    Chelsea movers

    April 24, 2013 at 6:02 am


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,068 other followers

