orgtheory.net

university attire

Teppo

Call me old-fashioned (I know, I know) – but I think I agree with Santiago Iniguez that formal dress (anything close to business casual suffices) for class creates a more respectful learning atmosphere. Iniguez even ties attire to moral arguments related to Herbert Hart – a bit heavy-handed I think – but for the moment I’ll join the chorus.  These days the dress of students seems very casual – flip flops, tank tops, and who knows what (some of my Emory students were particularly bad).

(Bainbridge seems to agree).

Written by teppo

July 26, 2006 at 9:14 pm

Posted in blogs, teppo

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When I teach workshops on classroom management for college professors, I spend a great deal of time talking about establishing credibility and making a good first impression so that the students will “buy into” the class. I think dress is part of that–we are rolemodeling what it takes to be successful. For my students who make formal presentations in short skirts, see-through tops, and flip flops…much more modeling is needed!

    Like

    Delaney Kirk

    July 28, 2006 at 4:32 pm


Comments are closed.

