orgtheory.net

anonymous survey: stolen research ideas?

I thought the results of our previous, unscientific survey were very interesting: 59% of people (139 took the survey) googled paper titles either before or after reviewing them for a journal.  (That obviously creates problems for the double-blind peer review process.)

So, here’s another, unscientific survey.  As academics most of us pursue research and thus ideas are our currency.  I’ve heard discussions of late about “ideas being stolen” and wondered about how prevalent that is.  So, what are your thoughts — have your research ideas been stolen?

Written by teppo

November 7, 2009 at 7:14 am

Posted in uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And, please don’t yell at me about lousy survey/question design, I have no expertise. I see already that I’m creating some problems with the way I framed the questions, but overall I think the responses will roughly reflect what I’m trying to gauge here.

    Like

    tf

    November 7, 2009 at 7:59 am

  2. There’s nothing wrong with the question. You might just get a complaint about the last item, which unjustifiably discusses the moral foundations of “steeling”. I voted on another item, but there is nothing wrong with steeling in my opinion :)

    Like

    Fr.

    November 7, 2009 at 4:02 pm

  3. Would that be the “perception” that one’s ideas were stolen? :-)

    Like

    Eric Abrahamson

    November 7, 2009 at 9:43 pm

  4. I think it’s sad that our profession emphasizes “individual work” so much, when in my view research is always a collective enterprise, even when we don’t recognize it. I wish people would be more willing and get credit for sharing

    Like

    L

    November 7, 2009 at 11:30 pm

  5. How about a follow-up poll: “Have you ever stolen a research idea?” ?

    Like

    Rense

    November 9, 2009 at 11:55 am

  6. Rense: I think we’re sort of capturing some of those folks with the “no” response:).

    Like

    tf

    November 9, 2009 at 2:31 pm


Comments are closed.

