orgtheory.net

need a social theory book?

As long time readers know, I have been working on a social theory book. It has been read by many people. Now, I want to test drive it. If you need a book for a class, email me and I’ll make a special deal. Highlights:

  • Short book organized around major ideas/theoretical ideas in sociology (e.g., inequality, institutions).
  • Illustrated with modern sociological research, not just classic texts.
  • Aimed at upper division/early grad students OR non-sociologists who want a summary of modern social theory.
  • Written in an academic but non-textbooky style. In other words, it’s an essay on how sociologists do theory with empirical examples, not a conventional theory textbook.

Compliment to the traditional theory anthology/reading list or can be read by itself. Operators are waiting.

50+ chapters of grad skool advice goodness: Grad Skool Rulz ($2!!!!)/From Black Power/Party in the Street

Written by fabiorojas

October 23, 2015 at 12:01 am

Posted in books, fabio, social theory

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doh. I am getting more interested in sociology (I’ve read a bunch of Berger, Ellul, and Christian Smith so far), but I am not part of a class or teaching one. But I do want “a summary of modern social theory”.

    Like

    Luke Breuer

    October 24, 2015 at 6:53 am

  2. Would love a copy. Thanks.

    Like

    Yosem Eduardo Companys

    October 25, 2015 at 5:43 pm


Comments are closed.

