orgtheory.net

fantasies of summer

This is the summer I’m going to write twenty hours a week, every single week.

This is the summer I’m going to take some real time off. Like more than a week.

This is the summer I’m going to finish my syllabi before August 20th.

This is the summer I’m going to train for that marathon.

This is the summer I’m going to keep getting up at 5:30am every day, even when I don’t have to.

This is the summer I’m going to do all that grad director stuff that there isn’t time for during the year.

This is the summer I’m not going to succumb to the fact that no one else is in the office and everything feels relaxed and find myself letting work take twice as long as it should and taking long internet breaks at 3:30 in the afternoon.

This is the summer I’m going to make sure the kids are doing really stimulating things, instead of subsisting entirely on granola bars and watching Netflix until their eyes bleed.

This is the summer I’m going to do all that filing.

This is the summer I’m going to unpack those boxes that have been sitting unopened in the garage since I came back from sabbatical two years ago. And clean out the garage, too. And fix up the yard.

This is the summer I’m going to blog twice a week, just like I’ve been pretending I’m going to for the last two years.

This is the summer I’m going to sneak off and go bike-riding with the kids and play in the fountain just because it’s a beautiful day.

This is the summer I’m going to spend time with all the family and friends I never have enough time for.

This is the summer.

Written by epopp

May 12, 2016 at 9:39 pm

Posted in uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Go to Lake Minnewaska! Of all the upstate NY places I miss that the most.

    Like

    Joseph Gibbons

    May 12, 2016 at 10:09 pm

  2. Amen!

    Like

    mike_bader

    May 16, 2016 at 4:32 pm


Comments are closed.

