orgtheory.net

sociology in the new york times

More sociologists in prominent publications!

This morning I posted about two recent articles from sociologists in The Atlantic, and then Beth Berman reminded me about Corey Fields‘s recent piece in The New York Times on black Republicans:

A common thread that links high-profile black Republicans like Mr. Carson is their commitment to “colorblind” politics. You can also see this with recently elected politicians like Representative Mia Love of Utah and Senator Tim Scott of South Carolina. They acknowledge that being black is part of their life experience but reject the idea that racial identity should orient their political decision making. They often decry efforts, like affirmative action, to address racial inequality explicitly, claiming that such policies undermine black success.

Though colorblind black Republicans get a lot of attention, they fail to represent an important, if overlooked, type of black Republican, which I call “race conscious.”

And then, in the Times today, this piece from Neil Gross on why the highly educated are so liberal:

What explains the consolidation of the highly educated into a liberal bloc? The growing number of women with advanced degrees is part of it, as well-educated women tend to be especially left-leaning. Equally important is the Republican Party’s move to the right since the 1980s — at odds with the social liberalism that has long characterized the well educated — alongside the perception that conservatives are anti-intellectual, hostile to science and at war with the university.

I do hope this trend continues.  If you know of something or someone else I should mention here, please e-mail me at guhin@soc.ucla.edu or contact me on twitter.

Written by jeffguhin

May 13, 2016 at 11:38 pm

Posted in uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. are we suggesting here (with praise) that sociologists are or should become journalists?

    Like

    smithea1

    May 14, 2016 at 11:07 am

  2. I don’t know if “we’re” suggesting anything, but I certainly have no desire to be a journalist. I am thrilled that our work is getting outside of the narrow confines of the academy, however, and I think it’s important that, to the extent possible, we represent our work ourselves alongside having it represented by journalists and others.

    If writing or sharing our work in such a way that it can be published in magazines or newspapers makes us journalists, then I suppose that’s what I’m calling for, but, at least for me, the bulk of my work is still writing to and for an academic audience. It’s simply important (and exciting) for that work to make its way into the broader world, and I do think it’s also important that, when possible, that act of extension be performed by the scholars themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    jeffguhin

    May 14, 2016 at 2:23 pm


Comments are closed.

