orgtheory.net

orgtheory 1.0 v. orgtheoy 2.0

This blog has been around ten years and we’ve had a lot of good times. I wanted to reflect a little about the changes:

  • People: Most importantly, many of the 1.0 bloggers have become very successful. I count at least three department heads and one major journal editor That means less time for blogs from the 1.0 crowd.
  • Content shift: The 2.0 bloggers – Katherine, E-Poppp and Jeff Guhin – are more qualitative and sociological. Between E-Poppp and myself, there is a lot more higher ed posting. High theory has receded on this blog as Omar has moved to other pursuits, but Jeff will likely bring that back. More classic management posts still appear, but less frequently.
  • Novelty: Blogging is no longer innovative. It’s an established format. That means there is less “e-buzz” about orgtheory. It’s just a routine thing that some people do.
  • Alternatives: Now, the blog lives in a world of Facebook, Twitter, Reddit and anonymous gossip garbage websites. Much attention has moved to these formats. Still a lot of readers but most of the contention has moved away from the blog.

Use the comments to discuss what you like about the blog and what you might want to see.

50+ chapters of grad skool advice goodness: Grad Skool Rulz ($2!!!!)/From Black Power/Party in the Street

Written by fabiorojas

June 21, 2016 at 12:15 am

Posted in blogs, fabio, uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m excited to be part of the blog, and I’m grateful for this set of interesting distinctions. I do think there’s something interesting about “the comments section” and how it’s come to be regarded as, basically, useless. Conversation has shifted to twitter and facebook in interesting ways. Though I’d say most of my best sociological conversations happen on facebook, though that’s a separate and also interesting conversation.

    Liked by 1 person

    jeffguhin

    June 21, 2016 at 12:21 am

  2. Indeed. A major feature of the 2.0 world. It’s sad though. Those discussions are not retrievable. Twitter only lets you mine the last 3k updates and Facebook is notoriously unsearchable. So those discussions are lost. Also, Twitter is fun but it’s simply no replacement for actual sentences and sustained discussion. It’s also a medium that encourages snark. I love Twitter, but you do lose a lot when you move to that format.

    Liked by 1 person

    fabiorojas

    June 21, 2016 at 1:57 am

  3. Organizations and Markets . com is shutting down. Like many others, I don’t follow blogs very much any more. I do still stop by Orgtheory.net every so often. I hope you manage to keep things going. Just in case, having thanked the rulers of O&M.com, I’d like to commend you on this blog. I’ve read a decent bit of organizational sociology. (had two sociologists on my committee now that I think of it) Yet, my knowledge of OS and of sociology in general is quite limited. Many of your discussions about sociology and the other fields covered here are great reading. It was a pleasure to learn so much across a range of discussions. Best of lucking hanging in there. Thanks again. DH

    Like

    David Hoopes

    June 25, 2016 at 4:59 am


Comments are closed.

