orgtheory.net

weekend fun link – demotivation and despair

Like Fabio said, despair is a running theme of much fiction, but did you also know that it’s a central emotional component of most organizations? It’s true. A student sent me a link to this (simply awesome) website that contains “motivational products and posters for pessimists, underachievers, and the chronically unsuccessful.” My favorite discoveries were these podcasts about creating status barriers between executives and employees, organizational storytelling, and dealing with employee complaints.

Written by brayden king

November 22, 2009 at 4:00 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. on How I Met Your Mother, Barney’s office is completely wallpapered with the anti-motivation posters

    Like

    gabrielrossman

    November 22, 2009 at 4:31 pm

  2. I like that demotivator poster that reads “It may be that your purpose in life is to serve as a warning to others”.

    Like

    Kieran

    November 22, 2009 at 7:09 pm

  3. These make me laugh. My graduate students gave me a calendar one year… some of my favorites…
    “Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups”
    and
    “A few harmless flakes working together can unleash an avalanche of destruction.”

    Like

    Christine

    November 24, 2009 at 12:36 am


Comments are closed.