orgtheory.net

ah, the little choices we make

Two years ago I did a radio interview about a company called “The Point”.  The name of the company came from Malcolm Gladwell’s “The Tipping Point”.  The idea was to use the web to facilitate collective action.

After the interview, I contacted the founder.  We had lunch.  He was brimming with ideas.  But he was also really interested in… well…  OrgTheory.  He wanted to take the ideas we talk about on this blog and try to turn them into a company.

We talked a few more times after that. He wanted to know if I wanted to get involved. I decided it would be better to focus on my writing.  But I did mention there were grad students who would love to spend time with his company; to mine it for data and hopefully help tweak the model too.  In the end though, I couldn’t find anyone willing to pull themselves away from studies of status rankings and categorization.

By the by, Andrew Mason and I lost contact and that company became Groupon which has, apparently, been sold for $6 billion to Google.

Oops.

Written by seansafford

December 1, 2010 at 1:25 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “But he was also really interested in… well… OrgTheory.”

    No! Absolutely not. We will not sell orgtheory for any amount of money. ;)

    Like

    teppo

    December 1, 2010 at 4:21 pm

  2. Pay no attention to that Teppo man behind the curtain. Serge, Larry, (Andrew?), me and my lawyers are available any time of the day to discuss the merger of our world-leading brands.

    Like

    seansafford

    December 1, 2010 at 4:30 pm

  3. Fabio: I need your help, orgtheory needs to stay with the people. Additional ferret posts (ok, maybe some additional kalevala or chant posts by me) will significantly lower orgtheory’s market value and make any deal unattractive to money-grubbers like Sean.

    Like

    teppo

    December 1, 2010 at 4:41 pm

  4. Right. Scratch that. I’m looking for work guys… I’m available to be “thought guru” or “theory evangelist”. As for the rest of you, see you later suckers!

    Like

    seansafford

    December 1, 2010 at 4:44 pm

  5. Can I sign on as guru sidekick? I’ll be the Andy Richter to your Conan.

    Like

    brayden king

    December 1, 2010 at 5:39 pm

  6. wow REALLY??? i did wonder where the idea of their way of doing things came from…

    but be not disheartened, for thou art the intellectual godfather (or among them) of Groupon!

    Like

    Andrew

    December 1, 2010 at 6:06 pm

  7. if it helps you with the regret minimization, you can assume that in the counterfactual universe where you earned sweat equity in Groupon the firm wouldn’t have been worth anything.

    Like

    gabrielrossman

    December 1, 2010 at 6:32 pm

  8. Sean, I don’t think it would be unreasonable for this fellow to establish the “Groupon Chair in OrgTheory,” with you as the first occupant.

    And Teppo, you may think the llama posts decrease our market cap, but you have not seen my llama wool fund statements.

    Like

    fabiorojas

    December 1, 2010 at 7:08 pm

  9. Many thanks Gabriel. I appreciate the underlying assumption there. As usual, you are most likely correct. My sweat equity can be toxic.

    As for sidekicks, I’m taking applications (in my parallel fantasy universe, which I’ve been immersed in since last night).

    If I’m a godfather, I’m a distant minor one. Like the minor royal who is asked to attend the christening of the fourth in line to the throne.

    As for a chair in OrgTheory, now THERE’s an idea. I shall send an email off forthwith. I’m sure he’ll get around to opening it… eventually.

    Like

    seansafford

    December 2, 2010 at 1:52 pm

  10. thats very interesting turn of events!
    so what exactly is orgtheory?

    Like

    Farhad Billimoria

    December 13, 2010 at 11:29 am

  11. […] leave a comment » 1. This blog is responsible for $6,000,000,000 in economic growth. […]

    Like


Comments are closed.