orgtheory.net

mac switch

So, a few miscellaneous impressions after switching to a mac a few weeks ago.

  1. Everything is aesthetically more pleasing — user interface, hardware, fonts, etc. Love it.
  2. I haven’t really been ‘into’ my computer like this before, this thing’s like my baby now.
  3. Keynote (Apple’s ppt equivalent) is brilliant, I don’t see myself using powerpoint again. The keynote animation feature already helped me effectively illustrate some things in a research pres//technology.beloblog.com/archives/apple%20logo.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.entation.
  4. Love all the little apps, spotlight’s fantastic (no need for google desktop, though I was a big fan of it).
  5. Apple has nicely cornered the K through 12 educational market, so my daughters have also been helpful in orienting me to the mac. (They are now begging my wife that we switch to a mac at home as well.)
  6. Haven’t tried Scrivener yet, JC sent me an email just yesterday raving about it — I’ll try it soon.
  7. No problems yet with software compatibility (e.g., exchanging files with pc-using co-authors).
  8. I now have more friends, macs are real conversation pieces — mac users routinely stop and talk to each other. (Also more enemies, including former graduate students of mine who work for Microsoft; and, the Microsoft executive I ran into last weekend: I accidentally raved to him about my Apple phone — didn’t know that was such a sore spot. Apparently there’s quite a war for marketshare brewing.)
  9. The costs of the switch (time-wise) have been less than I expected, though it could be that I’m just giddy about the machine.
  10. A minor downside — Safari has given me constant grief, but FireFox runs just fine (except I can’t use the gestures with it).
  11. Everything’s faster.
  12. And, yes, Kieran, given the switch to a mac I do now “dress better, sparkle in conversation and [to my wife’s chagrin I have] become more attractive to women and the envy of other men.”

Written by teppo

April 7, 2008 at 5:28 am

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I accidentally raved to him about my Apple phone — didn’t know that was such a sore spot. Apparently there’s quite a war for marketshare brewing

    Right. The problem for MSFT is that it’s being fought by a bunch of other companies. Besides, if your former students give you a hard time, just tell them that you wanted to buy the fastest Vista notebook on the market.

    Like

    Kieran

    April 7, 2008 at 2:16 pm

  2. Also, getting a mac has interesting echoes of having children or getting married: there is no end of ‘helpful’ advice for you that would be considered totally intrusive if it were directed at, say, how you dress or some other public persona part of you…

    [and, of course, if you ever want advice on ssh-keypairs, I’m here for you]

    Like

    Peter

    April 7, 2008 at 2:39 pm

  3. I too switched to a Mac; about 6 months ago. I also grew a bit of a goatee and bought black framed glasses. I am even learning to program in Java. (I kid you not on that issue.)

    Women now throw themselves at my feet as I seem to be a magnet for all that is good.

    Talk about the halo effect…

    On a serious note; the computer is fun again; a joy to use. I have not had this much fun in years.

    Got to run; the women have discovered my new hiding place. Oh my…

    H

    Like

    Howard Adamsky

    April 7, 2008 at 3:15 pm

  4. “I haven’t really been ‘into’ my computer like this before”

    Maybe you had a healthy, sane life before? Another Mactard has born.

    Like

    Sebhelyesfarku

    April 7, 2008 at 6:04 pm

  5. You may be right.

    Like

    tf

    April 7, 2008 at 6:11 pm

  6. Another Mactard has born.

    This troll no verb.

    Like

    Kieran

    April 7, 2008 at 6:27 pm

  7. Here’s a few advanced tips:

    When viewing a Save/Don’t Save/Cancel dialog, you can use return save, esc to cancel, and Command-D to not save.

    When typing in most text fields and text editors, Option and Command can modify movement and deletion by one step:

    Left and right arrow keys move by a single character. Up and down arrow keys move by a single line. Delete deletes a single character.

    Option-left or Option-right arrow moves by a single word. Option-up and Option-down move by a single paragraph. Option-delete deletes a single word.

    Command-left or Command-right arrow moves to the beginning and end of a line. Command-up and Command-down move to the beginning and end of the document/field. Command-delete deletes an entire line.

    You’ll also find a few emacs-style commands using Control, such as Control-a and Control-e to jump to the beginning and end of a line, and Control-k to kill (essentially cut) anything past the cursor to the end of the line, and Control-y to yank (paste text cut with kill).

    Have fun!

    Like

    Andrew

    April 8, 2008 at 2:28 am

  8. Brilliant, thanks — I’d actually been looking for page-down/up equivalents etc. Very helpful.

    Like

    tf

    April 8, 2008 at 3:00 am

  9. When viewing a Save/Don’t Save/Cancel dialog, you can use return save, esc to cancel, and Command-D to not save.

    In general, a well-designed Mac app will allow you to select non-default items in dialog boxes by using command- and the first letter of the option you want to choose.

    I’d actually been looking for page-down/up equivalents etc. Very helpful.

    The arrow keys on your keyboard (down the bottom right) work as page-up, page-down home and end keys if you hold down the fn key when using them.

    Like

    Kieran

    April 8, 2008 at 3:15 am

  10. […] of the guys at orgtheory.net talking about his mac switch, rattling off his newly found benefits, ending […]

    Like

  11. Too bad Safari is misbehaving for you. I find hovering over a word and pressing command-control-D to be great fun!

    Like

    Partners in Grime

    April 10, 2008 at 4:49 am

  12. Using a Mac is generally very, very enjoyable, and gets better as time passes and you find your way around things. To make it an even better experience, I would suggest that you consider installing two programs (if not already) that no Mac should be without: Little Snitch and SuperDuper!

    -Little Snitch acts as a ‘reverse’ firewall, preventing any unauthorized (by you) access from programs running in your Mac to anywhere outside it (I have seen some people calling it ‘phoning home’). More at .

    (Also, irrespective of whether you have Little Snitch installed, in System Preferences > Security ensure the firewall is active and in Advanced check that stealth mode is on for extra security.)

    -SuperDuper! is an extremely effective backup program (which saved my digital life and stuff twice so far). If you backup to an external FireWire drive (LaCie units are very good), you can boot off it in case you can’t from your Mac. More at .

    Enjoy your better designed/engineered, saner (and more stylish) computing environment.

    Like

    Mauro Mello Jr.

    April 10, 2008 at 2:28 pm

  13. No person can be faithfully like me. Sometimes yet I have ailment doing it.

    Like

    Oniss

    May 3, 2010 at 7:48 am

  14. Be not fuming that you cannot get others as you predisposition them to be, since you cannot sign yourself as you thirst to be

    Like

    Step Machine

    September 21, 2010 at 7:48 am


Comments are closed.