orgtheory.net

in memory of dave arneson

Dave Arneson recently died. He was the co-author, with Gary Gygax, of the first version of “Dungeons and Dragons.” I won’t repeat my rant about what a great game D&D is – you can read it in my post following Gygax’s passing, but I will share my one random encounter with Dave.

At Gen Con 2006, I decided to run an African themed role playing game, Nyambe. I had written an adventure based on the African folktale film Kirikou and the Sorceress. At one point, the tribal ranger character decided to use the “talk with animals” power to obtain information about where the evil sorceress had hidden the village children. I was a bit surprised, because I didn’t remember that power and I didn’t know what to do – what animal should you talk to on the plains of Africa? However, I did know that Meerkat manor was the hot show, so I jumped up on a chair and did my best meerkat impersonation. The group laughed!

This older gentleman – Dave Arneson – shows up while I’m in meerkat mode and says “Is this the African role playing game session?”

Me: “Ummm… yes?”

Dave Arneson: “What are you trying to do? Why are you standing on the chair?”

Me: “I’m the GM and this guy’s doing ‘talk with animals.’ I’m a meerkat, they’re all over the place in Africa.”

Dave chuckles, and before leaving says: “Glad to see someone try something new. I like it. Carry on.”

Wow! Gen Con admission: $40. Nyambe rule book: $20. Having one of the D&D’s inventors personally approve your game: priceless. Thanks, Dave, for the great game and the great memory.

Written by fabiorojas

May 30, 2009 at 12:12 am

Posted in fabio, fun

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tonight I was asked for my top 3 nerdy moments, and I did not have a ready answer. Clearly, nothing this good has ever happened to me. Very impressive.. and he will be missed.

    Like

    Dan Hirschman

    May 30, 2009 at 5:28 am


Comments are closed.