orgtheory.net

in memoriam – richard titlebaum

Fabio

departure_of_the_trojans_jp50.jpg 

Departure of the Trojans, acrylic, 24″ x 48,” by R. Titelbaum.

I recently looked at the home page of Richard Titlebaum, only to find out that he died in October 2006 during heart surgery. I met Richard during at the annual Hyde Park/57th Street Art Fair. His work combined themes from surrealism, classical Greek literature and gay pride. He made drawings, watercolors and oils, producing dreamy landscapes or scenes inspired by ancient history and myth. Think folk art + Klee + Greek urns.  I made a habit during graduate school to visit his stall at the Hyde Park Art Fair and he once sold me an ink drawing he had made for his mother, which was inspired by a stay in Barcelona. It’s a work I have always treasured.

I learned more about him from his website and corresponded once or twice over email. He had a PhD in English from Harvard, taught literary criticism at UC Berkeley and then abandoned an academic career to dedicate himself to art. He showed widely in America and in Israel. He recently showed in the presigious Saatchi Gallery in London. I also learned that he sold antique books, was friends with literary giant Quentin Crisp and was a world traveller. Though I barely knew you, thank you, Richard.

Written by fabiorojas

January 24, 2007 at 5:56 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for eulogizing Richard Titlebaum so well! His friends can all take comfort in knowing that his art will live on and inspire us. He left some fine homoerotic works to the Leslie/Lohman Gay Art Foundation in New York. Some of his religious works were left to the St. Francis of Assisi Parish of Ann Arbor MI, and the Boston Latin School received a number of his classically themed works. As time passes, his artistic legacy will receive the notice it so richly deserves!

    Like

    Anita Baker-Blocker

    June 18, 2007 at 3:38 pm

  2. I just packed up my unframed Richard Titlebaum paintings. Because I need to move soon. I will frame them someday soon, and leave them to my nieces and nephews, eventually.

    It is over two years since Richard died. Anita B-B., who osted here before, has done a great deal to make Richard as famous as he deserves to be. Please contribute here, and elsewhere, if you can add to Richard’s legend.

    Like

    Tom Neely

    December 23, 2008 at 1:32 am

  3. The Titlebaum painting shown here belongs to his good friend Joe George of Ann Arbor, Michigan. Riichard left it to me in his will, but I traded it off to Joe. This is a late Titlebaum painting. It is a great rendering of a Greek soldier, but I prefer Richard’s earlier less-rigorously-painted Greek soldiers. I agonized about trading this painting off, because the soldier is exquisite, and Joe is lucky to have it. But I have a classic mappy Titlebaum instead, and I am glad to have it.

    Like

    Tom Neely

    December 23, 2008 at 1:48 am


Comments are closed.